Vintage Treasures

Screen Shot 2015-01-10 at 17.38.21Today’s interview is with Emily Hughes, whom I have had the pleasure of working with at Judy’s Affordable Vintage Fairs in Edinburgh, but the company and the lovely lady herself travel all over the UK bringing vintage fashion to the public. Check out www.judysvintagefair.co.uk to find one near you!

 
1. Hi Emily! So what is your role at Judy’s?

I’m the Brand and Event Manager! I organise everything from booking venues to marketing, PR and graphic design!

2. How many fairs have you been involved in, and what has been your favourite so far?

Last year we had over 100 events across our 3 brands – 60 of those we’re our ‘affordable vintage fairs’! Some of my favourite events are in Edinburgh and London – we have such amazing crowds there and some really intriguing customers with very unique styles.

3. What makes a vintage trader stand out?

Perfectly prepared stock, a really fantastic layout and of course keeping the quality of their items really high! I always get really excited when we get new traders through who sell incredible stuff. Items from 1920s – 1950s are getting harder to find these days so when a trader has some really beautiful old stock we’re all swarming around them!

4. How would you describe your style and what eras are you inspired by?

The majority of my clothes are vintage, I’d say around 85% (obviously sometimes the high street is the only place to grab basics). I adore the sharper styles of the 50’s and early 60’s…I really love bold colour and great patterns. I try and avoid twee styles, they just don’t suit me! My aim for this year is to build up my key wardrobe with some really great statement pieces. I’ve just gone ginger so I’m loving green currently.

5. If you had to pick, whats the best part of your job?

The fair days! It’s so wonderful to catch up with the traders and see so many happy faces coming through the door. To help create such a successful event is a pleasure.

6. What made you come into this business ? 

I studied Graphic Design! I started working for Judy back in 2012 when I was still a student. I was tired of working part-time in a bar and wanted to get involved in something different. At the time I contacted Judy she was looking for a student designer…it was perfect timing. Slowly but surely I worked more events, got involved in the business more. I was delighted to be offered the position of Brand and Event Manager at the end of 2013 – I was ecstatic.

7. Why do you think people should invest in vintage clothing?

Vintage is an amazing way to get incredible, one off items for bargain prices. The quality is amazing, much better than many items on the high street (even when it’s decades old)! Vintage gives you to opportunity to mix your era, styles and really experiment with fashion, without breaking the bank.

8. Who is your favourite style icon from the past and why?

Oh gosh that’s such a difficult question…I know she’s not really from the past but I adore Joan Holloway in Mad Men. They style her so well and she always looks like she’s owning it!

9. Whats great about the people you work with?

It’s amazing to have such a strong team full of wonderful people. We all work together really easily…it’s nice to constantly have ideas bouncing around! We all love what we do, I think that’s the key to our success.

10. And finally, any exciting projects coming up?

Oh lots…it’s our 10th anniversary this year so we’ve got quite a few things up our sleeves. I’d urge people to keep their eyes on our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Website for updates. (www.judysvintagefair.co.uk)

3 thoughts on “Vintage Treasures

Leave a Reply

